Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Foundation Announces Board Leadership

BATON ROUGE La. – Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Foundation is pleased to announce that board leadership has been elected to help carry out its mission.

Nathaniel Tannehill Nathaniel Tannehill was recently re-elected to serve as board chair. Other officers re-elected include George “Rolfe” Miller, Vice Chair, David T. Perry, Secretary/Treasurer, and Rose J. Hudson, Immediate Past Chair. Jonas D. Fontenot, PhD, MBA, serves as president of the Foundation.

“Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Foundation is proud to play a role in ensuring cancer patients have access to the highest quality care and the most robust cancer services available anywhere in the Gulf South,” said Tannehill. “We look forward to continuing to grow the endowment to support the fight against cancer.”

Kimberly Ginn and Art E. Favre were newly elected to serve on the board for a three-year term. Additional board members include Jeanne C. James, Brett P. Furr, Joseph B. “Beau” Olinde, Susan Blanchard, Kathryn “Katie” Graves, Shelia Sterling and Jonathan B. Bruser.

Rebecca Nelson was recognized for her leadership and dedication to Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Foundation with an appointment to the honorary position of Director Emeritus. Nelson has served on the board since 2017.

“The Foundation board plays an integral part in positioning Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center as the leading cancer care organization across the Gulf South,” said Jonas Fontenot, PhD, MBA, Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center. “The board’s work to build a long-term endowment has an immense impact on our organization’s mission to improve survivorship and lessen the burden of cancer that will endure for generations to come.”


About Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Foundation
Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Foundation secures the future of cancer care by building an endowment to provide long-term sustainability – ultimately advancing cancer care for generations to come. For information on the on the Foundation, visit